skip to content

Electron Microscopy Group


Here is a list of EM Group members, with contact details.

NB Telephone extension numbers should be preceded by +44 (0) 1223 3 #####'

Academic Staff Tel. extension Room  Email (add Status Portrait
Prof Paul A Midgley FRS 34561 0_029 pam33 Head of Department and Professor of Materials Science Paul Midgley
Prof Caterina Ducati 34566 0_027 cd251

Professor and Director of the Wolfson Microscopy Suite

Director of the MPhil in Micro and Nanotechnology Enterprise

Cate Ducati
Dr Emilie Ringe 34300   er407

Joint Lecturer MSM&ES

Research and Technical Staff Tel. Room Email Status Portrait
Dr Simon Fairclough 34562 0_025 smf57 Advanced TEM Technical Officer   
Dr Owen Saxton 34562 0_025 wos1 Senior Research Fellow
Dr John Walmsley 34564 0_026 jcw80 WEMS Facility Manager John-Photo
Dr Tiarnan Doherty   0_025 td404

Oppenheimer Research Fellow and

JRF @ Murray Edwards College

Postdoctoral Research Associates Tel. Room Email Research Group Portrait
Dr Alison C Harrison 34562 0_025 act27 PAM  
Dr James C Loudon 34562 0_025 jcl25 PAM
Dr Amoghavarsha Mahadevegowda 34562 0_025 am2729 CD Amog_Photo
Dr Po-Yen Tung     pyt21 PAM/RH (Earth Sciences)  
Dr Petr Vacek 34597 0_025 pv305 PAM  
PhD Students Tel. Room Email Research Group Portrait
Liam Bird 34562 0_025 llrb2 CD
Mia E. Charlesworth 34597 0_025 mec92 PAM/TB  
Xin Chen 34562 0_025 xc331 CD  
Hannah Cole 34597 0_025 hcc72 PAM/HS  
Rowena Davies 34562 0_062 rd685 CD/BDN  
Wei Huang 34562 0_025 wh358 CD  
Helen Leung 34597 0_025 hl585 PAM  
Mai Ching Lai 34562 0_025 mcl63 CD  
Timothy Lambden 34596 0_025 tpgl3 PAM/CR  
Xinjuan Li 34562 0_025 xl531 CD  
Thomas Selby 34597 0_025 tas72 SS/TD/PAM  

Fanzhi Su

34562 0_025 fs521 CD  
Administrative Support Staff Tel. Room Email    
Julie Smith 34332   jcs226 Senior Secretary PA to PAM and CD